90’s Nostalgia

90's

Everyone loves the 90’s right? I was born in ’96 so most would say “you don’t know nothin’ ’bout the 90’s” but that’s where you are wrong. I was too young to really experience the 90’s but i still love them! Everything 90’s makes me wish i was a teen in the 90’s. From the music, style, TV shows and colorful fashion trends; I love it! My parents were Teenagers in the 90’s so I grew up listening to all the 90’s hits and hearing stories abut how crazy life was back then.

Music

keep calm

Music today is nothing compared to 90’s hits. My all time favorite song is Love Of My Life (An Ode To Hip-Hop) by Eryka Badu featuring Common. It is one of the many examples of real music. Nowadays you can write/sing a song about cheese and get signed. It’s ridiculous to me. I miss when music actually meant something, made sense and people actually listened to the words and not just the beat. When people wrote for enjoyment not just the money. Before music degraded women and looked at us females as people not objects. I guess we can say that music itself is an influence. Music has definitely changed over the years, But I like to take time and reflect.

Some of my favorite Hip-Hop and R&B groups from this era are: Soul for Real, TLC, SWV, H-Town, Dru Hill,  Jodeci, BoysIIMen, Shai, Blackstreet, Bell Biv Devoe, Destiny’s Child, 702, Xscape, Hi-Five, Mint Condition, Troop, Tony Toni Tone`, Salt ‘N Pepa, Jagged Edge, Guy and Silk; just to name a few.

Then there are my favorite solo artists, they consist of:  Mc Lyte, Lauryn Hill, Brandy, Aaliyah, 2pac, Biggie, Mary J. Blige, Faith Evans, Mariah Carey, Jay-Z, Nas, Puff Daddy (Diddy), R.Kelly, Raphael Saadiq, Monica, Whitney Houston, Toni Braxton, Common, Eryka Badu and Alicia Keys just to name a couple more.

 

Fashion/Style

windbreakers

The colors and bold fashion statements made in the 90’s captured my attention. I enjoy expressing myself through clothing. I don’t mind dressing the way they did back then, I absolutely LOVE it! Fashion trends recycle themselves so expect to see some of these things coming back in style.

Just a few things I love….: Hoop and Bamboo gold earrings, chunky gold necklaces, windbreakers, flannel button-up shirts, loose fit jeans, combat boots, timberland’s, belly shirts, bucket hats, Jordan’s, Adidas, denim, leather, leather jackets, Coogi, Coogi sweaters, jumpers, plaid, sheer tops, goddess braids (“Poetic Justice Braids”), finger waves, jean jackets, bandana’s, basketball and baseball jersey’s, hoodies, high-top fades (“The Juice Cut”), corn rolls, big t-shirts, french braids and Versace.

LL Cool J’s Around The Way Girl describes the trends perfectly and it’s a good song.

Now do you love the 90’s as much as I do? What do you love about this era? What is your favorite 90’s song? Don’t be shy, just comment!Until next time, According to Honey.

Leave a Reply

